How I’m Doing Resolutions Differently This Year

My experiment with habit building and personal growth

Steven Ma
6 min readFeb 3, 2022
Image by Author

This year, I’m doing New Year’s resolutions differently. Why am I publishing this in February? Well, that might give you insight into how my resolutions are going so far.

I intended to publish this in January, you know, when everyone’s thinking about resolutions. I was thinking about them to, but didn’t implement them as quickly as I would have liked to, specifically writing.

So you could say I’ve already failed — I couldn’t even write and publish an article in the month of January. But this year is different. And so far I’m succeeding.

How?

Well, that can be explained in the first change:

I’m using dates as catalysts

January is great time to start new habits. But so is February. And so is March or April or May.

We place so much importance on the month of January for resolutions to start new things and build new habits. If we don’t start something in January, or we can’t sustain something throughout January, then we feel like we’ve failed.

I had intended to write this article in January, and make a habit of writing an article once a month going forward…

--

--